About YPAC


7 Alpine countries – 80 dedicated young people – 10 different schools

one spirit


Here you can find the information you need to find out what the Youth Parliament to the Alpine Convention – YPAC – is all about.


» YPAC at a glance

» History of YPAC

» Partner schools



The Alpine Convention  is an international treaty between the eight Alpine countries and the European Union, which aims at the protection and sustainable development of the Alps. It was signed by all Alpine countries (Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Switzerland and Slovenia) and the European Union in the 1990s.

The Framework Convention defines general objectives for the protection and development of the Alpine region, which are in turn defined more precisely in eight Protocols, in which commitments and measures for implementation are also established.



The Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention was established by the Alpine Conference (Conference of Ministers for the Environment of the contracting countries) in 2002. It provides administrative and technical support to the bodies of the Alpine Convention, supports the implementation of the Convention and its Protocols, does public relations jobs and co-ordinates the Alpine research projects.